Skip to main content


Showing posts from February 2, 2012

Mount Haguro

Mount Haguro is one of the Three Mountains of Dewa in the ancient province of Dewa As the lowest of the three mountains, standing at 1,358 feet, it is the only one that is accessible throughout the year. A path of 2,466 stone steps lead to its summit amidst 600-year-old sugi trees, past the famous Gojū-tō five story pagoda and numerous shrines. The steps and the pagoda are listed as National Treasures. The Sanzan-Gosai-den temple at the summit venerates the spirits of all three mountains. The summit can also be reached by a limited bus service. In addition to religious pilgrims, travellers often stay at the Saikan temple lodgings. Mount Haguro